Planning to Marry?
What do I need to do to obtain a marriage license?
There are two (2) ways to obtain a marriage license:
- Complete the Online Marriage License Application. An email address is required. Once you've completed the online application, you will receive a verification email and your application will be placed on file with the Department of Court Records Marriage License Bureau.
- An application for a marriage license is NOT a marriage license.
- The process will be quicker if you complete the online application.
- Both applicants (bride and groom) MUST APPEAR IN PERSON at the Department of Court Records Marriage License Bureau to complete the process even if the on-line application is completed.
- The three (3) day waiting period begins AFTER both applicants (bride and groom) appear in person at the Department of Court Records Marrriage License Bureau.
- Come into our office and complete the online application. A clerk will be available to assist you, if needed.
Department of Court Records,
Wills/Orphans' Court Division
Marriage License Bureau
414 Grant Street
1st Floor, City-County Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
In either case, both applicants seeking a marriage license must appear together in person at the Department of Court Records Marriage License Bureau to complete the process. Photo identification is required when you appear at the Marriage License Bureau.
Once the Application for Marriage License has been submitted, the couple has appeared in person at the Marriage License Bureau and the three (3) day waiting period required by the State has passed, the Marriage License can be mailed (at no extra cost) to an address provided by the couple. With this option, couples can save on parking fees, missed time from work or a second trip to downtown Pittsburgh.
When is the office open?
The Marriage License Bureau is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm, Wednesday until 7:30 pm, with the exception of holidays. NOTE: No applications will be done after 4:00 pm except on Wednesday.
When should we apply for a license and how long is it valid?
Applicants should take the necessary steps to obtain a Marriage License 2 to 3 weeks before the scheduled date of their marriage ceremony.
Pennsylvania law requires a three (3) day waiting period between the date applicants apply for a Marriage License and when the license may be issued. If applying on Monday, the license will be ready on Thursday. If applying on Tuesday, the license will be ready on Friday. If applying on Wednesday, Thursday or Friday, the license will be ready on Monday.
The marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued and may be picked up from the Marriage License Bureau by either of the applicants, a friend or a relative.
If desired, a marriage license will be mailed after the mandatory three (3) day waiting period.
May a marriage license issued in Allegheny County be used anywhere else?
A Marriage License issued in Allegheny County may be used anywhere in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Likewise, a license issued in any other county in Pennsylvania may be used in Allegheny County.
What about prior marriages?
Applicants who have been previously married and divorced must furnish a certified copy of the Decree of Divorce dissolving the marriage. A certified copy of the divorce decree issued means there is a Court seal on the copy. Certified copies of divorce decrees may be obtained by contacting the Family Division of the Court in which the decree was granted (Department of Court Records, Civil/Family Division if decree was granted in Allegheny County). A widow or widower must provide the date of death of their former spouse.
NOTE: An additional $5.00 per Decree of Divorce will be added to the standard $75.00 Marriage License Fee. For example, if only one applicant has had a prior divorce, the Marriage License Fee would be $80.00. If both applicants have had a prior divorce, the Marriage License Fee would be $85.00.
What are the age requirements to marry?
Applicants must be 18 years of age in order to apply for a marriage license. This rule applies to both male and female applicants. Applicants between 16-18 years of age must be accompanied by the custodial parent or guardian to provide written consent. Applicants under 16 years of age must have BOTH the written consent of the custodial parent or guardian and the written approval of a judge of the Orphans' Court Division of the Court of Common Pleas.
Who may not marry?
Persons related by blood up to and including first cousins may not marry in Pennsylvania. Other prohibitions and policies are posted in the Marriage License Bureau of the Wills/Orphans' Court Division.
What are the fees for a marriage license?
The fees for a Marriage License vary from county to county. Allegheny County fees, including Pennsylvania taxes and surcharges, are as follows:
|Allegheny County Fee
|Pennsylvania Writ Tax
|Court Technology Fee
|Act 151 Surcharge
|Act 222 Surcharge
|Additional Fee per Divorce Decree
Who must file the marriage return?
The officiant performing the marriage ceremony must file the Marriage Return with the Marriage License Bureau which issued the license, within ten (10) days of the date of the ceremony. A marriage record will not exist if the officiant who performs the marriage fails to file this document. Upon request, the Marriage License Bureau will inform the couple whether their marriage return has been filed and recorded.
How do I obtain a duplicate marriage license?
The Allegheny County Marriage License Bureau can provide a certified copy of a marriage license. Copies may be obtained by contacting the Marriage License Bureau at the address provided above.
Couples who wish to obtain a certified copy of a marriage record from a county in Pennsylvania other than Allegheny County may do so by contacting the county from which their marriage license was issued.
Applicants who have questions concerning any of this material may contact the Marriage License Bureau at (412) 350-4230.