Fitzgerald Names Remaining Four Appointments to Port Authority Board

PITTSBURGH – Allegheny County Executive Rich Fitzgerald announced today that he has selected his remaining four appointments to the Port Authority of Allegheny County Board, naming County Council Member Amanda Green Hawkins, Robert Hurley, Jeffrey W. Letwin and Constance Parker. 

“These four members have been great advocates for the public transit system during their past service to the Port Authority and bring a great deal of knowledge and experience to the table,” said County Executive Rich Fitzgerald. “I look forward to the work that they and the other members of the newly-formulated board will do as we work to stabilize transit while making it more customer-friendly, effective and efficient.”

Council Member Hawkins is assistant general counsel for the United Steelworkers Union and director of its Civil and Human Rights Department. She has served on Allegheny County Council since March 2008, representing District 13 which includes several wards within the City of Pittsburgh and Bellevue Borough.

Robert Hurley is the senior deputy director of Allegheny County Economic Development. He also serves on the Board of Urban Innovation 21 and holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in geography and regional planning from Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

Jeffrey W. Letwin is a partner with Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis, LLP in Pittsburgh. His legal practice includes all areas of business counseling and he serves as co-chair of the Bond Finance Practice Group and chair of the Franchise Practice Group. 

Constance Parker is the Community Relations Coordinator for the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation’s District 11 and is the current president of the Pittsburgh branch of the NAACP. She attended Carnegie Mellon University.

Pursuant to Act 72 of 2013, the County Executive has six appointments to the Port Authority Board – two of which had to be chosen from lists provided by designated organizations, and four others. Last month, the Executive submitted Thomas Donatelli and John L. Tague, Jr. for confirmation by County Council.  The appointments were approved at the September 10 meeting of Council.

Donatelli, Hawkins, Hurley, Letwin, Parker and Tague will join five other members appointed by the Governor and legislative leaders of the State Senate and House on the new Board.  To date, Senator Jim Brewster (Senate Democratic Leader selection), Representative Dom Costa (House Democratic Leader selection) and D. Raja (Senate Republican Leader selection) have also been named to the Board.

# # #