ALOM, Fitzgerald Designate 21 Municipalities as 2013 Banner Communities

PITTSBURGH – Allegheny League of Municipalities (ALOM) officials, along with Allegheny County Executive Rich Fitzgerald, today announced that 21 municipalities have been selected as 2013 Banner Communities, indicating that those municipalities implement best practices in all aspects of their operations and that govern in an inclusive, collaborative manner.

“Our communities and elected officials have some very impressive things going on in their municipalities,” said Pete Poninsky, Chairman of the Allegheny League of Municipalities.  “The Banner Communities Program is intended to highlight those efforts and to set a standard we believe all of our municipalities can meet.  These 21 municipalities have a significant amount of intergovernmental cooperation efforts in place, as well as community activities, and mentoring and educational programs taking place too.”

The 2013 Banner Communities are Collier Township, Etna Borough, Fawn Township, Hampton Township, Indiana Township, Leetsdale Borough, Town of McCandless, Moon Township, Munhall Borough, North Fayette Township, Ohio Township, Reserve Township, Richland Township, Ross Township, Sewickley Borough, Tarentum Borough, Upper St. Clair Township, Whitehall Borough and Wilkins Township in Allegheny County and Butler Township and Cranberry Township in Butler County.

“The Allegheny League of Municipalities has a 40-year history of working with boroughs, townships, cities, home rule municipalities and municipal authorities in our region towards a coordinated approach relating to municipal legislation and services,” said County Executive Fitzgerald. “The Banner Communities Program takes the League’s efforts to improve communication, cooperation and coordination on issues that are of area-wide concern to a different level. These 21 municipalities really have set a standard of how local government should function, and should be commended for the work that they do for their residents.”

In order to be eligible for consideration for the Banner Communities Program, the municipality’s elected and appointed officials must:

  • Participate in educational or training programs through ALOM, the Local Government Academy or the PA Department of Community & Economic Development or participate in a governing mentoring program
  • Be active members in good standing with ALOM and the county municipal associations, and have a representative attending at least a minimum of 50% of county association meetings
  • Be active members in good standing in a COG and attend COG meetings, participate in a COG cooperative purchasing program and participate in at least one shared municipal service
  • Conduct a Local Government Week activity by conducting a local activity promoting local government or communicating with the community about delivery of services
  • Conduct an effective Citizen Communication Program by offering a municipal newsletter or web-based communication effort, and participate in a class discussion on local government or conducting a shadowing program for junior or senior high school students

“I’m excited about the good work that these municipalities are doing. They all meet the spirit and intent of the program in that they are delivering services to their communities effectively and in ways that enhance the quality of life for their residents,” said Richard Hadley, Executive Director of ALOM.  “They are a diverse group of municipalities in size and demographics, but they all exhibit the characteristics of leadership and sound local government principals.  ALOM is well represented by these 2013 Banner Communities.”

The Allegheny League of Municipalities is a 501(c)(6) non-profit, umbrella organization of municipalities in Western Pennsylvania.  Founded in February 1963, the organization began in response to a request made in the 1960s by the Allegheny County Commissioners which resulted in the Allegheny Seminar.  While recognizing the tradition of statutory municipal independence and self-government, the League was established to coordinate the needs of the area’s local government officials.

# # #