Fitzgerald to Participate & Cast Vote in 57th Electoral College

 PITTSBURGH – Allegheny County Executive Rich Fitzgerald will join 19 other electors in the 57th Electoral College in Harrisburg today to cast, certify and transmit their votes for President and Vice President of the United States of America.  The Electoral College of Pennsylvania will convene at 12:00 p.m. in the Chambers of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives.

“I am honored to participate in such a historic event,” said County Executive Fitzgerald.  “To have the opportunity to cast my ballot in the 57th Electoral College is humbling and also exciting. I am looking forward to all of today’s events and to representing our state’s popular vote through my vote in the Electoral College.”

The President and Vice President of the United States are not elected by a direct vote of the people, but by officials in each state called “electors.”  Following the vote by ballot, the results of the Electoral College will be reported to the Administrator of General Services, who then certifies copies to Congress. The U.S. Senate and House of Representatives will meet in joint session on January 6 at 1:00 p.m. to count the electoral votes.  The result of the vote count is delivered to the President of the U.S. Senate and to the joint session naming the persons who have been elected President and Vice President of the United States.

Along with casting their vote, the electors will also have an official photograph taken and will be hosted by Governor Corbett for lunch at the Governor’s Mansion.

In addition to the County Executive, the other electors include Mark L. Alderman (Montgomery County), Cindy M. Bass (Philadelphia County), Richard Bloomingdale (Dauphin County), C. Kim Bracey (York County), James R. Burn, Jr. (Allegheny County), Jay Costa (Allegheny County), Frank Dermody (Allegheny County), Penny Gerber (Montgomery County), Amanda Green Hawkins (Allegheny County),  Vincent J. Hughes (Philadelphia County), Susan Golden Jacobson (Philadelphia County), Clifford B. Levine (Allegheny County), Robert M. McCord (Montgomery County), Michael A. Nutter (Philadelphia County), Lazar M. Palnick (Allegheny County), Roxanne G. Pauline (Lackawanna County), Jose Rosado (Lehigh County), Cynthia D. Shapira (Allegheny County) and Joshua D. Shapiro (Montgomery County).

# # #