Allegheny County Government

On May 19, 1998, the residents of Allegheny County voted to enact a Home Rule Charter for the county to take effect in 2000. The new government abolished the three-commissioner system in favor of an elected county executive, a 15 member county council (13 elected by district, 2 at-large) and an appointed County Manager. The new system maintains the general duties of county government while separating legislative and executive functions and transferring substantial authority over our government from the Commonwealth to the citizens of Allegheny County through the process of initiative and referendum.

Executive Branch

  Allegheny County Executive 

Legislative Branch

  Allegheny County Council 

Judicial Branch

  Court of Common Pleas 

Row Offices

Blue Arrow County Code of Ordinances 

Blue Arrow Home Rule Charter 

Other County Entities